CITY COUNCIL COMMUNICATION:

ITEM _

98-126

OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER DES MOINES, IOWA

AGENDA:

APRIL 6, 1998

SYNOPSIS —

SUBJECT:

Selection and appointment of 15 member City of Des Moines Enterprise Community Steering Committee (ECSC) in accordance with the amended Rules and Procedures, adopted by City Council on December 22, 1997.

ENTERPRISE STEERING COMMITTEE MEMBERS

FISCAL IMPACT —

TYPE:

N/A

RESOLUTIONORDINANCE
RECEIVE/FILE

RECOMMENDATION —

SUBMITTED BY:

Approval.

JAMES GRANT COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR

BACKGROUND —

Under the new approved rules and procedures, the ECSC shall be comprised of 15 members. The neighborhood associations and ECSC felt there was a need to reduce the size of the board and believed doing so would enhance overall efficiency and productivity of the steering committee.

The ECSC shall consist of and was selected as follows:

A. Neighborhood organizations selected five persons who represent a neighborhood organization.

- 1. Mark Bates Mondamin Presidential Neighborhood Assoc.
- 2. Janice Cochran New Vision Neighborhood Association
- 3. Bruce Coney Chautauqua Park Neighborhood Association
- 4. Dave Stephenson King-Irving Neighborhood Association
- 5. Dick Thomas River Bend Neighborhood Association

- B. Agency Representatives selected three persons from non-profit agencies that serve the Enterprise Community.
- 6. Ed Barnes Employee and Family Resources
- 7. Maria Dunker Children and Families of Iowa
- 8. Tony Gales Mid-City Vision
- C. Business Representatives selected two persons who are each owners or officers of a private for profit business located in Des Moines or surrounding area.
- 9. Don Graves Business Representative 10. (To Be Filled) Business Representative
- D. One person, representing the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa, or his or her designee, shall be a member of the ECSC.
- 11. Don Nickerson United States Attorney for Southern District
- F. Four persons who are each a chairperson of the four Environment Work Groups shall be a member of the ECSC.
- 12. Willie Mae Martin Human Environment Work Group
- 13. Dorothy Campbell Physical Environment Work Group
- 14. Clarke Stewart Economical Environment Work Group
- 15. Neila Seaman Community Neighborhood Environment Work Group

This new board will continue the implementation of the Enterprise Community Strategic ten-year plan. One of the first tasks the Steering Committee will have is to revisit the benchmarks based on current community needs and resources.