- 1			
- 1			
- 1			
_			

CITY COUNCIL COMMUNICATION:

REVISED

ITEM

98-414

OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER CITY OF DES MOINES, IOWA

AGENDA:

SEPTEMBER 14, 1998 SYNOPSIS —

SUBJECT:

DES MOINES ENTERPRISE ZONE COMMISSION

TYPE:

RESOLUTION ORDINANCE RECEIVE/FILE

SUBMITTED BY: ERIC ANDERSON CITY MANAGER

On the September 14, 1998, Council agenda is a resolution to affirm appointments of three additional Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission members in accordance with State law to administer the Enterprise Zone Program. The Enterprise Zone Program is a special package of State tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas. The Des Moines Agribusiness Park Enterprise Zone is bounded by Dean Avenue to SE 43rd Street (City limits) to the Des Moines River to SE 14th Street. The Des Moines Enterprise Community Enterprise Zone is bounded by Hickman Road to the Des Moines River to I-235 to MLK Parkway. Ellen Walkowiak with the City's Office of Economic Development is coordinating the City activities relative to this project.

FISCAL IMPACT —

N/A

RECOMMENDATION —

Affirm appointments of three additional members to the **Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission in accordance** with State law to administer the Enterprise Zone Program.

BACKGROUND —

In May 1998, the Iowa Legislature enacted and the Governor signed into law House File 2164 which provides after July 1, 1998, the authority for cities with State-certified enterprise zones to establish a nine-member Enterprise Zone Commission to administer the Enterprise Zone Program. The Des Moines

Agribusiness Park and the Des Moines Enterprise Community are State-certified enterprise zones.

On August 17, 1998, Council appointed the first six members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission and authorized them to conduct business on behalf of the Commission in accordance with State law. Members and their affiliations are as follows:

Affiliation	Appointee
Representative of Des Moines City Council	Cindy Minor
Member of Des Moines Plan & Zoning Commission	Robert Mahaffey
Representative of International Labor Organization	Willie James
Representative of Workforce Development Center	Jane Barto
Member of Des Moines Area Community College Bd of Directors	Rena Wilson
Member with Economic Development Expertise Chosen by Iowa Department of Economic Development (IDED)	Gerard Neugent

As required by State law, the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission selected three additional members at its September 9, 1998 meeting and by telephone vote on September 13 and 14, 1998. The affiliation and appointees are as follows:

Affiliation	Appointee	
Representative of Federal Enterprise Community	David Elwell	
Representative of City of Pleasant Hill	Mark Ackelson	
At-large Member	Rebecca Skoog	

The appointment of the three additional members to the Des

Moines Enterprise Zone Commission is consistent with State and Municipal law. Council is required to adopt a resolution to affirm the appointments.

Each of the appointees to the Commission shall serve a twoyear term, which began on August 17, 1998, the date Council initiated the establishment of the Commission. However, in order to stagger terms, the term of membership for the City of Pleasant Hill representative shall initially be for one year. All appointees shall be subject to reappointment by the Council.

The Commission shall adopt policies and procedures to administer the Enterprise Zone Program. After the Iowa Department of Economic Development (IDED) approves the Commission and its policies and procedures, businesses can submit applications to the Office of Economic Development for Enterprise Zone benefits. It is projected that in October 1998, applications can be received for timely processing. Several businesses have expressed serious interest in the Enterprise Zone Program and are awaiting Council action to enable it.

[Council Members | Leave a Message | Meeting Agendas/Info | Recent Ordinances] [Board/Commision List | Meeting Schedule | Request to Speak | Election/Voter Reg]