CITY COUNCIL	ITEM
COMMUNICATION:	OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER
02-027	CITY OF DES MOINES, IOWA SYNOPSIS -
AGENDA:	On the January 28, 2002, Council agenda is a roll call to re-appoint
JANUARY 28, 2002	members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. Terms of all Commission members have expired. Appointments must be made pursuant to Iowa Code to continue the work of the Commission, which involves administering the Enterprise Zone Program in the
SUBJECT:	Agribusiness, Gateway, and Federal Enterprise Community Enterprise Zones. This program is a special package of state tax incentives
RE-APPOINT MEMBERS TO THE DES MOINES ENTERPRISE ZONE COMMISSION	designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas. Ellen Walkowiak with the City's Office of Economic Development is coordinating the City activities relative to this program.
	FISCAL IMPACT -
TYPE:	N/A
RESOLUTION ORDINANCE RECEIVE/FILE	RECOMMENDATION - Approval.
SUBMITTED BY:	
RICHARD CLARK DEPUTY CITY MANAGER	BACKGROUND - On August 17, 1998, by Roll Call No. 98-2603, the City Council appointed six members to serve on the nine-member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. On September 14, 1998, by Roll Call No. 98-2839, Council affirmed appointments of three additional members to the Commission selected by the first six members in accordance with state law. Appointments must be made to the Commission because all of the members' terms have expired. Most of the original members have indicated their interest in continuing to serve on the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.
	Appointments to the Commission are proposed as follows:

Affiliation	Appointee
Representative of Des Moines City Council	Jeff Friese, President, Kemin Nutrisurance
Member of Des Moines Plan and Zoning Commission	Robert Mahaffey, AE Dairy
Representative of International Labor Organization	Willie James, UAW
Representative of Workforce Development Center	Candice Heiser- Winston
Member of Des Moines Area Community College (DMACC) Board of Directors	Rena Wilson
Member with Economic Development Expertise (Chosen by Iowa Department of Economic Development)	Gerard Neugent, Knapp Properties

Upon appointment, the first six members shall select the remaining three members. They must include a representative of the Federal Enterprise Community, a representative of the City of Pleasant Hill, and an at-large member. This action will occur at the next Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission meeting, which is anticipated to occur in February 2002.

Commission members shall serve a three-year term; however, the term of membership for the Des Moines Plan and Zoning Commission, International Labor Organization, DMACC Board of Directors, and the City of Pleasant Hill representatives shall be for two years to stagger the terms. Appointees shall be subject to reappointment by the City Council.

The appointment of the proposed members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission is consistent with state and municipal law. In addition, proposed members collectively have an extensive array of experience with the type of housing, office, and industrial development projects that come before the Commission for review and recommendation to the Iowa Department of Economic Development (IDED).

The City's Office of Economic Development will staff the Commission, which will meet on an as-needed basis.

The Enterprise Zone Program will continue to be a significant state tax

incentive tool to encourage new investment in the Agribusiness, Gateway, and Federal Enterprise Community Enterprise Zones.