CITY COUNCIL

ITEM

OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER CITY OF DES MOINES, IOWA

02-030

SYNOPSIS -

AGENDA:

The Enterprise Community Steering Committee (ECSC) recommends reducing the ECSC from 15 members to a ten-member board.

JANUARY 28, 2002

COMMUNICATION:

FISCAL IMPACT -

SUBJECT:

N/A

REDUCTION OF ECSC MEMBERSHIP AND APPOINTMENT RECOMMENDATION-OF MEMBERS

Approval.

TYPE:

BACKGROUND -

RESOLUTION

ORDINANCE RECEIVE/FILE On December 22, 1997, the City Council approved the City of Des Moines Enterprise Community Steering Committee Revised Procedural Rules that outlined a new 15 member board structure. On April 6, 1998, the City Council approved the appointment of new ECSC members consistent with revised procedural rules for the

ECSC.

JAMES GRANT

COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT DIRECTOR

SUBMITTED BY:

The ECSC on January 10, 2002 recommended the reduction of the ECSC from 15 to ten members for the following reasons:

- The significant projects of the Enterprise Community (EC) Strategic Plan have been either completed or are under construction.
- All available EC funding has been or will be committed in the next six months.
- The board positions that are recommended to be eliminated are due to both the lack of participation and poor attendance.
- The board positions that are recommended to be eliminated are the following five members:
- -Human Environment Representative -New Vision Neighborhood Association

- -Business Representative
- -Social Service Agency Representative
- -Mondamin Neighborhood Association

The ECSC recommended revised membership shall consist of the following:

A. Neighborhood representation will consist of three persons who will represent the EC neighborhood associations.

Bruce Coney Chautauqua Park Neighborhood Dave Stephenson King-Irving Neighborhood Association Frank Owens Riverbend Neighborhood Association

B. Agency representatives will consist of two persons from non-profit agencies that serve the Enterprise Community.

Ed Barnes Employee and Family Resources Jerald Brantley Spectrum Resources

C. Business representation will consist of one person who is an owner or officer of a private for profit business located in Des Moines or surrounding area.

D.C. Bland Mustard Seed Financial

D. One person representing the United States Attorney for the Southern District of Iowa or his or her designee.

Steven Colloton United States Attorney for Southern District

E. Three persons who are each a chairperson for the Environmental Work Groups.

Dorothy Campbell Physical Environment Work Group Clarke Stewart Economic Environment Work Group Neila Seaman Comm/Neighborhood Environment Work Group

The new board consisting of ten members will continue implementation of the Enterprise Community Strategic ten-year plan.