CITY COUNCIL ITEM **COMMUNICATION:** OFFICE OF THE CITY MANAGER 02-378 CITY OF DES MOINES, IOWA **SYNOPSIS** -**AGENDA:** In March of 2000, the City Council created a Two Rivers Task Force JULY 8, 2002 to develop a master plan for the Des Moines and Raccoon Rivers within the Des Moines city limits. The Two Rivers Task Force Report is the product of the task force's work over the 12 months and is SUBJECT: intended to provide the City of Des Moines with a blueprint for undertaking actions for improving the recreational, historic, TWO RIVERS TASK environmental, and economic development potential of the Des FORCE REPORT Moines and Raccoon Rivers. The Task Force Report has been reviewed by the Historic District Commission, the Plan and Zoning Commission, the Park and Recreation Board, the Architectural TYPE: Advisory Committee, and the Urban Renewal Board. RESOLUTION ORDINANCE **FISCAL IMPACT -**RECEIVE/FILE Unkown. Each project will proceed through the Capital Improvement Program (CIP) budgeting process in future years. **SUBMITTED BY: JAMES GRANT RECOMMENDATION -COMMUNITY DEVELOPMENT** Receive, file, and refer to the City Manager for review as part of the ongoing Riverwalk project planning currently being DIRECTOR undertaken by the Principal Financial Group. DONALD TRIPP PARK AND RECREATION **BACKGROUND** -DIRECTOR On March 27, 2000, by Roll Call No. 00-884, the City Council approved the creation of a Two Rivers Task Force, made up of stakeholders charged with the responsibility of developing a master plan within two years. On July 10, 2000, by Roll Call No. 00-2019, the City Council approved the appointees to the Two Rivers Task

Force. The Two Rivers Task Force committee has met over the last year in developing recommendations for the Des Moines and Raccoon Rivers within the City limits that address its economic development,

recreational opportunities, and environmental and historic preservation. The plan has been reviewed by the appropriate boards and commissions as identified above.

The Task Force members are Neal Smith (Chair), Brian Clark, Gay Wilson, Dick LeCroy (deceased), Lin Homes, Christine Paskins, Bart Hicklin, Jeff Link, Suzette Jensen, Jeffrey Morgan, Jim Dietz-Kilen, Jerry DeMarce, Jack Hatch, Mary Reid, Kent Sovern, Michelle Wilson, Ben VanGundy, Don Gage, Mark Achelson, and John Zeller.

The full Two Rivers Task Force met four times during the planning period and there were numerous meetings of each of the four subcommittees during this time period.

The Task Force report and communications from boards and commissions are attached to the roll call.