

Agenda Item:	
23	

COUNCIL COMMUNICATION City Manager's Office

GENERAL INFORMATION

Agenda Date: 01/24/05 Communication No.:

05-030

Agenda Item Type: Resolution Roll Call No.: 05-

Submitted by: Richard Clark, Deputy City Manager

SUBJECT—

Resolution to Reappoint Members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

SYNOPSIS—

Approves reappointment of members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. Terms of all Commission members will expire on January 28, 2005. Appointments must be made pursuant to Iowa Code to continue the work of the Commission, which involves administering the Enterprise Zone Program in the Agribusiness, Gateway, and Federal Enterprise Community Enterprise Zones. This program is a special package of State tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas.

FISCAL IMPACT—

None

RECOMMENDATION—

Approval

BACKGROUND—

On January 28, 2002, by Roll Call No. 02-217, the City Council appointed six members to serve on the nine-member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. Upon appointment, the first six

members shall select the remaining three members. They must include a representative of the Federal Enterprise Community, a representative of the City of Pleasant Hill, and an at-large member. Several of the original members have indicated their interest in continuing to serve on the Commission.

Appointments to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission are proposed as follows:

Affiliation	Appointee
Representative of Des Moines City Council	Jeff Friese, President, Kemin
	Nutrisurance
Member of Des Moines Plan & Zoning Commission	Kaye Lozier, Greater Des Moines
	Community Foundation
Representative of International Labor Organization	Willie James, UAW
(UAW)	
Representative of Workforce Development Center	Candice Heiser-Winston
Member of Des Moines Area Community College	Madelyn Tursi
Board of Directors	
Member with Economic Development Expertise	Gerard Neugent, Knapp Properties
Chosen by IDED	

Commission members shall serve for at least three years. The term of membership for the Des Moines City Council, Des Moines Plan & Zoning Commission, International Labor Organization, Workforce Development Center and Member with Economic Development Expertise shall be for four years to stagger the terms. Members' terms shall begin on the date the Council approves the resolution. Appointees shall be subject to reappointment by the Council.

The appointment of the proposed members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission is consistent with State and municipal law. In addition, proposed members collectively have an extensive array of experience with the type of development projects that come before the Commission for review and recommendation to the Iowa Department of Economic Development.

The City Office of Economic Development will staff the Commission, which will meet on an asneeded basis.

The Enterprise Zone Program will continue to be a significant State tax incentive tool to encourage new investment in the Agribusiness, Gateway, and Federal Enterprise Community Enterprise Zones.