

Council Communication

Office of the City Manager

Date June 5, 2006

Agenda Item No. 17
Roll Call No. 06Communication No. 06-335

Submitted by: Richard A. Clark, City Manager

AGENDA HEADING:

Approving Appointments of Brian P. Standish and Michael Pollack to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

SYNOPSIS:

Recommend approval of the following appointments to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission:

- Brian P. Standish, Operations Director at Kemin Health, is proposed to serve as the representative of the Des Moines City Council to fill the Enterprise Zone Commission vacancy of Jeff Friese from Kemin Nutrisurance.
- Michael Pollock, Public Works Services Chief at the City of Des Moines, is proposed to serve as the representative of an international labor organization to fill the vacancy of Willie James, Jr.

Upon approval, Brian P. Standish and Michael Pollock will be on the Commission until January 24, 2009.

FISCAL IMPACT: NONE

Amount:

Funding Source:

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

In 1998, cities with state-certified enterprise zones were granted authority to establish nine-member Enterprise Zone Commissions to administer the Enterprise Zone Program. The Enterprise Zone Program is a special package of state tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas. State-certified enterprise zones in Des Moines include:

- 1. Des Moines Agribusiness Enterprise Zone (effective until August 2007)
- 2. Des Moines Enterprise Community Enterprise Zone (August 2007)
- 3. Gateway Enterprise Zone (August 2009)
- 4. Ingersoll Enterprise Zone (January 2016)

- 5. High Street Enterprise Zone (April 2016)
- 6. Forest Avenue Enterprise Zone (April 2016)
- 7. River South One Enterprise Zone (April 2016)
- 8. River South Two Enterprise Zone (April 2016)

On January 24, 2005 by Roll Call No. 05-168, Council appointed six members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. According to State law, these appointees selected the remaining three members. Jeff Friese represented the Des Moines City Council and Willie James, Jr., represented an international labor organization. Mr. Friese resigned for personal reasons, and Mr. James died. As former Commission members, they were very supportive of the projects they reviewed for State tax credits that are assisting in revitalizing the City.

Brian P. Standish, Operations Director at Kemin Health, and Michael Pollock, Public Works Services Chief at the City of Des Moines and a member of the Municipal Laborers' Union - Local 353, are very interested in serving on the Enterprise Zone Commission. Staff recommends that they fill the unexpired terms of Jeff Friese and Willie James respectively until January 24, 2009. Mr. Standish will also represent agribusinesses, especially those in the Des Moines Agribusiness Enterprise Zone.

With these appointments, the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission will be comprised of the following members:

AFFILIATION	APPOINTEE
Representative of Des Moines City Council	Brian P. Standish
Member of Des Moines Plan & Zoning Commission	Kaye Lozier
Representative of International Labor Organization	Michael Pollock
Representative of Workforce Development Center	Candace Heiser-Winston
Member of Des Moines Community College Board of Directors	Madelyn Tursi
Member with Economic Development Expertise	Gerard Neugent
Representative of Federal Enterprise Community	David Elwell
Representative of City of Pleasant Hill	Mark C. Ackelson
At-large Member	Jeff Johannsen

Madelyn Tursi will be on the Commission until January 24, 2008, and David Elwell, Mark C. Ackelson and Jeff Johannsen, until February 8, 2008. Brian P. Standish, Kaye Lozier, Michael Pollock, Candice Heiser-Winston and Gerard Neugent will serve until January 24, 2009.

PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION(S):

<u>Date</u>: January 24, 2005

Roll Call Number: 05-168

<u>Action</u>: Approving appointment of members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. (<u>Council Communication No. 05-030</u>) Moved by Hensley to adopt. Motion Carried 7-0.

Date: January 28, 2002

Roll Call Number: 02-217

<u>Action</u>: Reappointment of six members (Jeff Friese, Robert Mahaffey, Willie James, Candice Heiser-Winston, Rena Wilson, and Gerard Neugent) to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission for three-year terms. (Council Communication No. 02-027). Moved by Coleman to adopt. Motion Carried 6-1.

<u>Date</u>: August 17, 1998

Roll Call Number: 98-2603

<u>Action</u>: Appointment of members to Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission to administer State of Iowa certified Des Moines AgriBusiness Park and Des Moines Enterprise Community Enterprise Zones, continued from 7-27-98. (Council Communication No. 98-337). Moved by Phillips to adopt. Motion Carried 7-0.

BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION(S):

Date: February 8, 2005

Roll Call Number: None

<u>Action</u>: The first six members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission appointed David Elwell, Mark C. Ackelson and Jeff Johannsen to the Commission in accordance with State law.

ANTICIPATED ACTIONS AND FUTURE COMMITMENTS: NONE