

Council Communication

Office of the City Manager

Date March 23, 2009

Agenda Item No. 14
Roll Call No. 09Communication No. 09-163

Submitted by: Matthew A. Anderson, Economic

Development Administrator

AGENDA HEADING:

Resolution to Re-Appoint Members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

SYNOPSIS:

Terms of all current members have expired. Appointments must be made pursuant to Iowa Code to continue the work of the Commission, which involves review of applications for the Enterprise Zone Program within the City's fourteen recognized Enterprise Zones. This program is a special package of tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas.

FISCAL IMPACT: NONE

This is a State of Iowa program and has no fiscal impact on the City of Des Moines.

Amount: N/A

Funding Sources: N/A

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

On January 24, 2005 by Roll Call No. 05-168, the City Council appointed six members to serve on the nine member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. On June 5, 2006 by Roll Call No. 06-1089, the City Council affirmed appointments of the three additional members to the Commission selected by the first six members in accordance with State law. Appointments must be made to the Commission because the members' terms have expired. The majority of current members have indicated interest in continuing to serve on the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

Appointments to the Commission are proposed as follows:

Representative of Des Moines City Council: Brian Standish, Operations Director, Kemin Industries Member of Des Moines Planning & Zoning Commission: Jeff Johannsen Representative of International Labor Organization: Michael Pack, Laborers International Representative of Workforce Development Center:

Michael Wilkinson

Member of Des Moines Area Community College Board of Directors: Madelyn Tursi

Member Chosen by Iowa Department of Economic Development: Gerry Neugent, Knapp Properties

Upon appointment, the first six members shall select the remaining three members. They must include a representative of the Federal Enterprise Community, a representative of the City of Pleasant Hill, and an

at-large member. This action will occur at the next meeting of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission, and will be brought to Council for confirmation following the meeting.

Commission members shall serve a three-year term; however, the term of membership for the Des Moines Planning & Zoning Commission, International Labor Organization, DMACC Board of Directors and the City of Pleasant Hill representatives shall be for two years to stagger the terms. Appointees shall be subject to reappointment by the City Council.

The appointment of the proposed members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission is consistent with State and municipal law. In addition, proposed members collectively have a history with the types of housing, office and industrial development projects that come before the Commission for review and recommendation to the Iowa Department of Economic Development.

The Enterprise Zone program has been and will continue to be a significant state tax incentive tool to encourage new investment within the City of Des Moines.

PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION (S):

Date: June 5, 2006

Roll Call Number: 06-1089

<u>Action</u>: Appointment of members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission (Council Communication No. 06-335) Moved by Kiernan to adopt. Motion carried 6-1.

PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION (S):

Date: January 24, 2005

Roll Call Number: 05-168

<u>Action</u>: Approving appointment of members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. (<u>Council Communication No. 05-030</u>

) Moved by Hensley to adopt. Motion Carried 7-0.

BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION (S):

<u>Date</u>: February 8, 2005 <u>Roll Call Number</u>: N/A

<u>Action</u>: The first six members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission appointed David Elwell, Mark C. Ackelson and Jeff Johannsen to the Commission in accordance with State law.

ANTICIPATED ACTIONS AND FUTURE COMMITMENTS: NONE

For more information on this and other agenda items, please call the City Clerk's Office at 515-283-4209 or visit the Clerk's Office on the second floor of City Hall, 400 Robert D. Ray Drive. Council agendas are available to the public at the City Clerk's Office on Thursday afternoon preceding Monday's Council meeting. Citizens can also request to receive meeting notices and agendas by email by calling the Clerk's Office or sending their request via email to cityclerk@dmgov.org.