

# **Council Communication**

Office of the City Manager

**Date** May 18, 2009

Agenda Item No. 25
Roll Call No. 09Communication No. 09-323

Submitted by: Matthew A. Anderson, Economic

**Development Administrator** 

#### **AGENDA HEADING:**

Resolution to Appoint Members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

#### **SYNOPSIS:**

Appointments of three members have been made by the Enterprise Zone Commission and must be affirmed by Council pursuant to Iowa Code to continue the work of the Commission, which involves review of applications for the Enterprise Zone Program within the City's fourteen recognized Enterprise Zones. This program is a special package of tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas.

#### **FISCAL IMPACT: NONE**

Amount: N/A

<u>Funding Sources</u>: This is a State of Iowa program and has no fiscal impact on the City of Des Moines.

## **ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:**

On March 23, 2009 by Roll Call No. 09-463, the City Council appointed six members to serve on the nine member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. In accordance with State law, these six members appoint the remaining three. On May 5, 2009, the Enterprise Zone Commission approved appointments of the three additional members to the Commission, as follows:

Representative of the City of Pleasant Hill:

Mark Ackelson

Representative of the Federal Enterprise Community:

Greg

Mace

At-Large Representative:

Kaye Lozier

Commission members shall serve a three-year term; however, the term of membership for the City of Pleasant Hill representative, Federal Enterprise Community representative and At-Large representative shall be for two years, to stagger the terms. Appointees shall be subject to reappointment by the City Council.

The appointment of the proposed members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission is consistent with State and municipal law. In addition, proposed members collectively have a history with the types

of housing, office and industrial development projects that come before the Commission for review and recommendation to the Iowa Department of Economic Development.

The Enterprise Zone program has been and will continue to be a significant state tax incentive tool to encourage new investment within the City of Des Moines.

# PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION(S):

Date: March 23, 2009

Roll Call Number: 09-463

<u>Action</u>: <u>Approving</u> appointment of members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. (<u>Council</u> Communication No. 09-163) Moved by Hensley to adopt. Motion Carried 5-2.

# **BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION(S):**

Date: May 5, 2009

Roll Call Number: N/A

<u>Action</u>: The first six members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission appointed Mark Ackelson, Greg Mace and Kaye Lozier to the Commission in accordance with State law.

## ANTICIPATED ACTIONS AND FUTURE COMMITMENTS: NONE

For more information on this and other agenda items, please call the City Clerk's Office at 515-283-4209 or visit the Clerk's Office on the second floor of City Hall, 400 Robert D. Ray Drive. Council agendas are available to the public at the City Clerk's Office on Thursday afternoon preceding Monday's Council meeting. Citizens can also request to receive meeting notices and agendas by email by calling the Clerk's Office or sending their request via email to cityclerk@dmgov.org.