

Date: April 23, 2012

Agenda Item No. 16

Roll Call No.

Communication No. <u>12-187</u>

Submitted by: Terrance N. Vorbrich,

Acting Economic Development Administrator

AGENDA HEADING:

Resolution to appoint a member and affirm three members to the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

SYNOPSIS:

Appointments to the Enterprise Zone Commission must be made pursuant to Iowa Code to continue the work of the Commission, which involves review of applications for the State of Iowa Enterprise Zone program within the City's fourteen recognized Enterprise Zones. This program is a special package of State of Iowa tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas.

FISCAL IMPACT: NONE

This is a State of Iowa program and has no fiscal impact on the City of Des Moines.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

On February 27, 2012, by Roll Call No. 12-0275, the City Council appointed two members to serve on the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission, representing the Plan & Zoning Commission and the Des Moines Area Community College Board of Directors. On April 5, 2012, the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission met and six members of the Commission appointed three additional members, in accordance with State law. In addition, Iowa Workforce Development has recommended a new member to serve. City Council is requested to affirm the appointment of the three additional members, and approve the appointment of Iowa Workforce Development member.

Appointments to the Commission are proposed as follows:

Representative of Iowa Workforce Development Doug Brooks

Affirmation of Enterprise Zone Commission appointments as follows:

Representative of the Federal Enterprise Community
At Large Representative
Representative of the City of Pleasant Hill

Breanne Bolin
Kaye Lozier
Mark Ackelson

PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION(S):

Date: February 27, 2012

Roll Call Number: 12-0275

Action: Appointment of Christine Pardee, representative of the Plan and Zoning Commission, and Madelyn Tursi, representative of Des Moines Area Community College Board of Directors to the Enterprise Zone Commission for a two-year term commencing February 27, 2012 to expire February 27, 2014. (Council Communication No. 12-089)

Date: May 18, 2009

Roll Call Number: 09-844

<u>Action</u>: <u>Appointment</u> of Mark Ackelson, Greg Mace and Kaye Lozier to the Enterprise Zone Commission. (<u>Council Communication No. 09-323</u>) Moved by Kiernan to adopt. Motion Carried 6-1. Absent: Cownie.

BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION(S):

Board: Enterprise Zone Commission

Date: April 5, 2005

Resolution Number: 12-11

<u>Action</u>: Neugent made a motion to appoint Breanne Bolin - Representative from the Federal Enterprise Community Enterprise Zone, Mark Ackelson - Representative from the City of Pleasant Hill, and Kaye Lozier - At Large Member. Seconded by Ackelson. Motion carried.

ANTICIPATED ACTIONS AND FUTURE COMMITMENTS: NONE

For more information on this and other agenda items, please call the City Clerk's Office at 515-283-4209 or visit the Clerk's Office on the second floor of City Hall, 400 Robert D. Ray Drive. Council agendas are available to the public at the City Clerk's Office on Thursday afternoon preceding Monday's Council meeting. Citizens can also request to receive meeting notices and agendas by email by calling the Clerk's Office or sending their request via email to cityclerk@dmgov.org.