

AGENDA HEADING:

Amending Chapter 114 of the Municipal Code Revising Voting Members of the Traffic Safety Committee.

SYNOPSIS:

Recommend approval of amendment to Chapter 114 revising the voting members of the Traffic Safety Committee, including the first reading of the Ordinance regarding the voting member changes.

FISCAL IMPACT: NONE

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

Current Members of the Traffic Safety Committee proposed changes to the ordinance to have only the core members be voting members, and the ex-officio members be converted to non-voting participants. The core members consist of one (1) appointment by each Council Member, the Mayor, and the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District. The ex-officio members consisted of the following officials or their designees: the Chief of Police, the City Engineer, and the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District.

The make-up of the Committee is designed to bring traffic engineering expertise, police expertise, and public school concerns to light. Once all the concerns are brought to light, the core Committee members should be making the recommendation to the Council. The traffic engineering recommendations, along with input of the Police Department, and the school district staff, are incorporated in the reports provided to the Committee. The Committee believes it is redundant to have representatives of these entities be voting in support of their own reports and recommendations.

The following Ordinance changes are necessary to implement this change. The Ordinance will be changed to remove the ex-officio members and provide an additional appointment by the Mayor. The core members are now proposed to consist of nine (9) appointments; one (1) by each Ward Council Member and Council Member-at-Large, two (2) by the Mayor, and one (1) by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District.

Sec. 114-241. Created; composition; appointment; terms.

(a) There is established in and for the City, a Traffic Safety Advisory Committee.

(b) The Traffic Safety Advisory Committee shall consist of <u>eleven nine</u> voting members. <u>Seven</u> <u>Eight</u> of the members shall be appointed by the City Council. <u>One member shall be appointed by each</u> <u>Council Member with two members appointed by the Mayor.</u> One member shall be appointed by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide. Three of the members shall be ex officio members, consisting of the following officials or their designees: the chief of police, the city engineer, and the superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District.

(c) The term of office of each of the seven <u>eight</u> Council appointed members of the Traffic Safety Advisory Committee shall be for staggered terms of three years. The expiration date for all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Each member of the City Council may recommend a candidate to fill one position on the Committee.

PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION(S): NONE

BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION(S):

Board: Traffic Safety Committee

Date: July 16, 2013

Resolution Number: N/A

<u>Action</u>: A motion was made by Scott Galenbeck to change the Municipal Code to reflect that only the eight core members be voting members, not including the City Traffic Engineer; seconded by Carl McPherson. Motion passed 7:0.

ANTICIPATED ACTIONS AND FUTURE COMMITMENTS: NONE

For more information on this and other agenda items, please call the City Clerk's Office at 515-283-4209 or visit the Clerk's Office on the first floor of City Hall, 400 Robert D. Ray Drive. Council agendas are available to the public at the City Clerk's Office on Thursday afternoon preceding Monday's Council meeting. Citizens can also request to receive meeting notices and agendas by email by calling the Clerk's Office or sending their request via email to cityclerk@dmgov.org.