		Date:	July 14, 2014
	Council	Agenda Item No.	62
	Communication	Roll Call No.	<u>14-1107</u>
		Communication No.	<u>14-348</u>
	Office of the City Manager	Submitted by:	Matthew A. Anderson,
			Assistant City Manager

AGENDA HEADING:

Resolution to recognize the service of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission.

SYNOPSIS:

In May 1998, the State of Iowa Legislature created the Enterprise Zone program, a special package of tax incentives designed to encourage reinvestment in economically distressed areas throughout the State. On September 14, 1998, by Roll Call No. 98-2839, City Council established the nine (9) member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission. The Commission was established as part of the Enterprise Zone legislation, and was given the task to review applications for business and housing assistance under the program, forwarding recommendation to the Iowa Department of Economic Development (now the Iowa Economic Development Authority).

This year, new State of Iowa Legislation was approved that will sunset the Enterprise Zone Housing Tax Credit program, begin a new Workforce Housing Tax Credit Program, and concentrate business assistance resources under the State's High Quality Jobs Program (HQJ). Local Enterprise Zone Commissions will no longer be required.

The members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission are listed below.

FISCAL IMPACT: NONE

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION:

Members of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission

At Large Representative Representative of International Labor Organization Representative of the Federal Enterprise Community Representative of the DMACC Board of Directors Representative from Iowa Workforce Development Representative of the Plan & Zoning Commission Representative chosen by Iowa Economic Development Authority Representative chosen by Des Moines City Council Representative of City of Pleasant Hill Kaye Lozier, Chair Tom Hayes, Vice Chair Breanne Barnum Madelyn Tursi Doug Brooks Christine Pardee Gerard Neugent Brian Standish Mark Ackelson

PREVIOUS COUNCIL ACTION(S): NONE

BOARD/COMMISSION ACTION(S): NONE

ANTICIPATED ACTIONS AND FUTURE COMMITMENTS:

A letter of appreciation for service to the City of Des Moines will be sent to each member of the Enterprise Zone Commission.

For more information on this and other agenda items, please call the City Clerk's Office at 515-283-4209 or visit the Clerk's Office on the first floor of City Hall, 400 Robert D. Ray Drive. Council agendas are available to the public at the City Clerk's Office on Thursday afternoon preceding Monday's Council meeting. Citizens can also request to receive meeting notices and agendas by email by calling the Clerk's Office or sending their request via email to cityclerk@dmgov.org.