AN ORDINANCE to amend the Municipal Code of the City of Des Moines, Iowa, 2000, adopted by Ordinance No. 13,827, passed June 5, 2000, as heretofore amended, is hereby amended by amending Section 114-241, relating to the traffic safety advisory committee.

Be It Ordained by the City Council of the City of Des Moines, Iowa:

Section 1. That the Municipal Code of the City of Des Moines,

Iowa, 2000, adopted by Ordinance No. 13,827, passed June 5, 2000,

as heretofore amended, is hereby amended by amending Section

114 -241 relating to the traffic safety advisory committee, as

follows:

Sec. 114-241. Created; composition; appointment; terms.

- (a) There is established in and for the city a traffic safety advisory committee.
- (b) The traffic safety advisory committee shall consist of nine voting members. Eight of the members shall be appointed by the city council. One member shall be appointed by each council member with two members appointed by the Mayor. One member shall be appointed by the superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide.
- (c) The term of office of each of the eight appointed members of the traffic safety advisory committee shall be for staggered terms of three years. The expiration date for all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Each member of the city council may recommend a candidate to fill one position on the board.

Section 2. This ordinance shall be in full force and effect from and after its passage and publication as provided by law.

FORM APPROVED:

Katharine Massier, Assistant City Attorney

T. M. Franklin Cownie, Mayor

Attest:

I, Diane Rauh, City Clerk of the City of Des Moines, Iowa, hereby certify that the above and foregoing is a true copy of an ordinance (Roll Call No. 13-1579), passed by the City Council of said City at a meeting held October 7, 2013 signed by the Mayor on October 7, 2013 and published and provided by law in the Business Record on October 25, 2013. Authorized by Publication Order No.8630.

Diane Rauh, City Clerk