*	Roll Call	Number
	09	

Agenda Item Number **25**

Date May 18, 2009

WHEREAS, the Enterprise Zone program, as authorized by Iowa Code §§ 15E.191-96 (2003) (the "EZ Program" or the "Act") provides that certain eligible cities and counties may designate areas as enterprise zones and apply to the State of Iowa for enterprise zone certification to facilitate economic reinvestment in economically distressed areas; and

WHEREAS, the Iowa Department of Economic Development ("IDED") Board of Directors has certified fourteen Enterprise Zones in the City of Des Moines and amendments thereto, including 13 contiguous acres in Pleasant Hill; and

WHEREAS, cities with State-certified enterprise zones shall establish a nine member Enterprise Zone Commission ("Commission") to administer the EZ program pursuant to Iowa Code §§ 15E.195(2); and

WHEREAS, appointments must be made pursuant to Iowa Code § 15E.195(2) to continue the work of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, on March 23, 2009 by Roll Call 09-463, the City Council of the City of Des Moines appointed six members to serve on the nine member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission; and

WHEREAS, the remaining three members of the Commission shall be selected and reappointed by the first six members as required by State law; and on May 5, 2009, the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission selected three additional members to serve on the Commission; and

WHEREAS, the appointments of the Enterprise Zone Commission shall be affirmed as follows:

Affiliation Appointee

Representative of the City of Pleasant Hill Representative of the Federal Enterprise Community At Large Representative Mark Ackelson Greg Mace Kaye Lozier

WHEREAS, each of the appointees to the Commission shall serve a term of at least three (3) years, with the representatives of the City of Pleasant Hill, Federal Enterprise Community and City of Pleasant Hill to serve two year terms to stagger the appointments, with each appointee subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Des Moines, Iowa that:

- 1. The Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission is hereby reappointed pursuant to Iowa Code § 15E.195 (2).
- 2. The term of membership for the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission shall be for at least three (3) years, or as otherwise determined by the Des Moines City Council, with the term to begin on the date of approval of this resolution, and each member shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.
- 3. Mark Ackelson, Greg Mace and Kaye Lozier are appointed and authorized to conduct business on

*	Roll Call Number	
_	09-	

Agenda Item Number **26**

Date May 18, 2009

behalf of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission in accordance with State law.

- 4. The City of Des Moines Office of Economic Development shall continue to serve as staff to the Commission as designated by said Commission.
- 5. The Office of Economic Development shall forward a copy of this resolution to the State of Iowa Department of Economic Development.

(Council Communication No. <u>09-323</u> attached)

A PPRC	WFD	AS TO	FORM:

Michael F. Kelley, Assistant City Attorney

Moved by	to adopt.

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE				
COLEMAN				
HENSLEY				
KIERNAN				
MAHAFFEY				
MEYER				
VLASSIS				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED	APPROVED			

CERTIFICATE

I, LAURA BAUMGARTNER, Chief Deputy City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Mayor	Pro	Ter

Chief	Deputy	City	Clark
 Cinei	Deputy	City	CIGIN