## **\*** Roll Call Number

**Agenda Item Number** 

Date December 21, 2009

.....

BE IT RESOLVED, by the City Council of the City of Des Moines, Iowa that the following appointments as Regular and Alternate Members to the Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO), be and are hereby approved.

#### **REGULAR MEMBERS**

Frank Cownie Chris Coleman Skip Moore Christine Hensley Halley Griess Vacant **Richard Clark Robert Mahaffey** Brian Meyer

### **ALTERNATE MEMBERS**

Chris Johansen David Caris Vacant Matt Anderson William Stowe Kandi Reindl Randy Wetmore Allen McKinley Merrill Stanley

AND BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that the following appointments as Regular and Alternate Members to the Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) of the MPO, be and are hereby approved.

#### **REGULAR MEMBERS**

Gary Fox Larry Hulse Jeb Brewer

#### **ALTERNATE MEMBERS**

Michael Ring Michael Ludwig Pamela Cooksey

Moved by _	to	adopt.
------------	----	--------

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT	CERTIFICATE
COWNIE					I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of s
COLEMAN					
HENSLEY					certify that at a meeting of the Cit said City of Des Moines, held on th
KIERNAN					among other proceedings the above
MAHAFFEY					
MEYER					IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have her hand and affixed my seal the day a
VLASSIS					above written.
TOTAL					
MOTION CARRIED			A	PPROVED	

d City hereby ty Council of he above date, was adopted.

reunto set my and year first

Mayor

City Clerk



Merle Hay Centre 6200 Aurora Avenue, Suite 300W Urbandale, IA 50322-2866 Phone: 515.334.0075

# RECEIVED

NOV 210 2009

CITY MANAGER'S OFFICE

November 13, 2009

The Honorable Frank Cownie Mayor of Des Moines City Hall - Office of the Mayor 400 Robert D. Ray Drive Des Moines, IA 50309-1891

Dear Mayor Cownie:

#### Subject: Des Moines Area MPO Representation for 2010

Annually, the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) contacts the City of Des Moines to request the Des Moines City Council appoint, or reappoint, its representatives to the Des Moines Area MPO and to the Des Moines Area MPO's Transportation Technical Committee (TTC). We are writing to request the Des Moines City Council take that action again this year. Our staff has enclosed forms to fill out and return to the Des Moines Area MPO with the latest information on the City of Des Moines's appointments to the Des Moines Area MPO and the Des Moines Area MPO TTC for Calendar Year 2010.

The City of Des Moines, through the Amended and Substituted Agreement Establishing the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization under Chapter 28E, Code of Iowa, (28E Agreement), has nine primary representative(s) and nine alternate representative(s) on both the Des Moines Area MPO and on the Des Moines Area MPO's TTC. The City of Des Moines's current representation is:

Des Moines Area MPO Primary Representatives	Chris Coleman Frank Cownie <del>Vacant SKIP MOORE</del> Christine Hensley <del>Tom Vlassie Ha</del> lley Griess Vacant Richard Clark Robert Mahaffey Brian Meyer	
Des Moines Area MPO Alternate Representatives	Chris Johansen David Caris Vacant Matt Anderson William Stowe Kandi Reindl Randy Wetmore Allen McKinley Merrill Stanley	

Cownie/Kane Letter Des Moines MPO Representatives November 13, 2009 Page 2

Des Moines Area MPO TTC Primary Representatives	Gary Fox Larry Hulse Jeb Brewer
Des Moines Area MPO TTC Alternate Representatives	Michael Ring Michael Ludwig Pamela Cooksey

The City of Des Moines needs to appoint/reappoint persons to serve on these Des Moines Area MPO committees. The Des Moines Area MPO's 28E Agreement states "... the representative or representatives who serve on the Des Moines Area MPO shall be a member of its governing body or other person or persons appointed in the manner approved by such governing body. Alternative representatives may be similarly appointed, on a temporary or permanent basis, as a member government shall determine." No person appointed as a representative to one committee may serve as a primary representative or as an alternate representative on the other committee.

We remind each of the Des Moines Area MPO's member governments that:

- The Des Moines Area MPO urges that there should be a strong link between the appointing city council and its designated Des Moines Area MPO representative, with this link enhancing the ability of the appointed representative to carry forward that city's views when communicating with other member governments and agencies through the Des Moines Area MPO process.
- The Des Moines Area MPO urges that a city, when making its appointment of Des Moines Area MPO and Des Moines Area MPO TTC representatives select individuals who are committed to and willing to attend and participate in the Des Moines Area MPO's meetings and activities on a regular basis.
- The Des Moines Area MPO, following Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, also urges member governments to consider minority individuals when making these appointments.

In closing, we request that the City of Des Moines return the appointments information on or before December 30, 2009. We look forward to receiving the information for the City of Des Moines's representatives to the Des Moines Area MPO.

vour Thomas J. Kane

Executive Director

Enclosures

TJK: slr

cc: Ted Ohmart, MPO Chair ✓ Richard Clark, City Manager Diane Rauh, City Clerk