Roll Call Number	Agenda Item Number
e December 19, 2011	·
the City of Des Moines, Iowa, tha	COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF DES MOINES, IOWA, of at the following appointments as Regular and Alternate
Members to the Metropolitan Planning	g Organization (MPO), be and are hereby approved.
REGULAR MEMBERS	ALTERNATE MEMBERS
Frank Cownie	David Caris
Chris Coleman	Phil Delafield
Halley Griess	Steve Gunson
Robert Mahaffey	Chris Johansen
Brian Meyer	Pat Kozitza
Skip Moore	Kandi Reindl
Rick Clark	Scott Sanders
Allen McKinley	William Stowe
Larry Hulse	Terry Vorbrich
AND RE IT FURTHER RESOLVED	), that the following appointments as Regular and Alternate
	nnical Committee (TTC) of the MPO, be and are hereby
REGULAR MEMBERS	ALTERNATE MEMBERS
Jeb Brewer	Pam Cooksey
Jennifer Bohac	Mike Ring
Michael Ludwig	Rert Drost

Michael Ludwig

Bert Drost

Moved by	to adopt
WIOVEG DY	to adopt

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE				
COLEMAN				
GRIESS				
HENSLEY				
MAHAFFEY				
MEYER				
MOORE				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED		APPROVED		

#### CERTIFICATE

I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Mayor		City Clerk
	<del>" "</del>	



420 Watson Powell Jr. Parkway, Suite 200 Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Phone: 515.334.0075 www.dmampo.org

November 29, 2011

The Honorable Frank Cownie Mayor of Des Moines City Hall - Office of the Mayor 400 Robert D. Ray Drive Des Moines, IA 50309-1891

Dear Mayor Cownie:

#### Subject: Des Moines Area MPO Representation for 2012

Annually, the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) contacts the City of Des Moines to request the Des Moines City Council appoint, or reappoint, its representatives to the Des Moines Area MPO and to the Des Moines Area MPO's Transportation Technical Committee (TTC). We are writing to request the Des Moines City Council take that action again this year. Our staff has enclosed forms to fill out and return to the Des Moines Area MPO with the latest information on the City of Des Moines's appointments to the Des Moines Area MPO and the Des Moines Area MPO TTC for Calendar Year 2012.

The City of Des Moines, through the Amended and Substituted Agreement Establishing the Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization under Chapter 28E, Code of Iowa, (28E Agreement), has nine primary representatives and nine alternate representatives on the Des Moines Area MPO and three primary representatives and three alternate representatives on the Des Moines Area MPO's TTC. The City of Des Moines's current representation is:

Des Moines Area MPO Primary Representatives

Chris Coleman Skip Moore Frank Cownie Allen Mckinley Vacant Halley Griess Richard Clark Robert Mahaffey Brian Meyer

Des Moines Area MPO Alternate Representatives

Chris Johansen
Pat Kozitza
David Caris
Vacant
William Stowe
Kandi Reindl
Vacant
Vacant
Vacant

Cownie/Ashby Letter
Des Moines MPO Representatives
November 29, 2011
Page 2

Des Moines Area MPO TTC Primary Representatives

Gary Fox Michael Ludwig Jeb Brewer

Des Moines Area MPO TTC Alternate Representatives

Michael Ring Bert Drost Pamela Cooksey

The City of Des Moines needs to appoint/reappoint persons to serve on these Des Moines Area MPO committees. The Des Moines Area MPO's 28E Agreement states "... the representative or representatives who serve on the Des Moines Area MPO shall be a member or members of its governing body or other person or persons appointed in the manner approved by such governing body. Alternative representatives may be similarly appointed, on a temporary or permanent basis, as a member government shall determine." No person appointed as a representative to one committee may serve as a primary representative or as an alternate representative on the other committee.

We remind each of the Des Moines Area MPO's member governments that:

- The Des Moines Area MPO urges that there should be a strong link between the appointing city council
  and its designated Des Moines Area MPO representative, with this link enhancing the ability of the
  appointed representative to carry forward that city's views when communicating with other member
  governments and agencies through the Des Moines Area MPO process.
- The Des Moines Area MPO urges that a city, when making its appointment of Des Moines Area MPO and Des Moines Area MPO TTC representatives select individuals who are committed to and willing to attend and participate in the Des Moines Area MPO's meetings and activities on a regular basis.
- The Des Moines Area MPO, following Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, also urges member governments to consider minority individuals when making these appointments.

In closing, we request that the City of Des Moines return the appointments information on or before December 30, 2011. We look forward to receiving the information for the City of Des Moines's representatives to the Des Moines Area MPO.

Respectfully yours,

R. Todd Ashby Executive Director

Enclosures

RTA:slr

cc:

Chris Coleman, MPO Chair Richard Clark, City Manager

# Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 2012 Representative Information

### **MPO Primary**

Name:	
Title:	
Jurisdiction/Agency:	
Address:	Boulevard, Place, Avenue)
City, State, Zip (9 digits, if available)	:
Work ()	_ Home()
Fax ()	Cell ()
E-Mail	

#### Return by December 30, 2011, to:

Jennifer Zelle, Administrative Assistant Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 420 Watson Powell Jr. Parkway Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Phone: (515) 334-0075

# Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) 2012 Representative Information

### **MPO Alternate**

Name:	
Title:	
Jurisdiction/Agency:	
Address:(Please specify Stree	et, Boulevard, Place, Avenue)
City, State, Zip (9 digits, if available	e):
Work ()	Home ()
Fax ()	_ Cell ()
E-Mail	

#### Return by December 30, 2011, to:

Jennifer Zelle, Administrative Assistant Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 420 Watson Powell Jr. Parkway Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Phone: (515) 334-0075

# Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) 2012 Representative Information

## **MPO TTC Primary**

Name:	
Title:	
Jurisdiction/Agency:	
Address:(Please specify Street	, Boulevard, Place, Avenue)
City, State, Zip (9 digits, if available)	):
Work ()	_ Home ()
Fax ()	Cell ()
E-Mail	

#### Return by December 30, 2011, to:

Jennifer Zelle, Administrative Assistant Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 420 Watson Powell Jr. Parkway Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Phone: (515) 334-0075

# Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization (MPO) Transportation Technical Committee (TTC) 2012 Representative Information

## **MPO TTC Alternate**

Name:
Title:
Jurisdiction/Agency:
Address:
City, State, Zip (9 digits, if available):
Work () Home ()
Fax () Cell ()
E-Mail

#### Return by December 30, 2011, to:

Jennifer Zelle, Administrative Assistant Des Moines Area Metropolitan Planning Organization 420 Watson Powell Jr. Parkway Des Moines, Iowa 50309 Phone: (515) 334-0075