

Agenda Item Number

Date February 27, 2012

WHEREAS, the Enterprise Zone program, as authorized by Iowa Code §§ 15E.191-96 (2003) (the "EZ Program" or the "Act") provides that certain eligible cities and counties may designate areas as enterprise zones and apply to the State of Iowa for enterprise zone certification to facilitate economic reinvestment in economically distressed areas; and

WHEREAS, the Iowa Economic Development Authority ("IEDA") Board of Directors has certified fourteen Enterprise Zones in the City of Des Moines and amendments thereto, including 13 contiguous acres in Pleasant Hill; and

WHEREAS, cities with State-certified enterprise zones shall establish a nine member Enterprise Zone Commission ("Commission") to administer the EZ program pursuant to Iowa Code §§ 15E.195(2); and

WHEREAS, appointments must be made pursuant to Iowa Code § 15E.195 (2) to continue the work of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, on March 23, 2009, by Roll Call 09-463, the City Council of the City of Des Moines appointed six members to serve on the nine member Commission; and

WHEREAS, on May 18, 2009 by Roll Call 09-844, the City Council of the City of Des Moines affirmed three members to serve on the nine member Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission as appointed by the Commission; and

WHEREAS, the appointments to the Enterprise Zone Commission shall be approved as follows:

Affiliation Appointee

Representative of Des Moines Area Community College Board of Directors
Representative of Des Moines Plan & Zoning Commission

Madelyn Tursi
Christine Pardee

WHEREAS, each of the appointees to the Commission shall serve a term of at least two (2) years, and each appointee shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Des Moines, Iowa that:

- 1. The Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission members are hereby appointed pursuant to Iowa Code § 15E.195 (2).
- 2. The term of membership for the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission shall be for at least two (2) years, or as otherwise determined by the Des Moines City Council, with the term to begin on the date of approval of this resolution, and each member shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.
- 3. Madelyn Tursi and Christine Pardee are appointed and authorized to conduct business on behalf of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission in accordance with State law.
- 4. The City of Des Moines Office of Economic Development shall continue to serve as staff to the Commission as designated by said Commission.

*	Roll Call Number	
	12-	

Agenda Item Number

Date February 27, 2012

5. The Office of Economic Development shall forward a copy of this resolution to the State of Iowa Department of Economic Development.

(Council Communication No. 2-089 attached)

APPROVED AS TO FORM	ROVED AS TO	FORM	•
---------------------	-------------	-------------	---

Michael F. Kelley, Assistant City Attorney

Moved by	_ to adopt.

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE				
COLEMAN				
GRIESS				
HENSLEY				
MAHAFFEY				
MEYER				
MOORE				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED	ARRIED APPROVEI			PPROVED

Mayor

CERTIFICATE

I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Cit	y Clerk
-----	---------