\star	Roll Call Number
	13-
Date	March 25, 2013

Agenda	Item	Number
8		15
		J

RESOLUTION TO APPOINT THREE MEMBERS TO THE DES MOINES ENTERPRISE ZONE COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Enterprise Zone program, as authorized by Iowa Code Section 15E.196 (2003) (the "EZ Program" or the "Act") provides that certain eligible cities and counties may designate areas as enterprise zones and apply to the State of Iowa for enterprise zone certification to facilitate economic reinvestment in economically distressed areas; and

WHEREAS, the Iowa Economic Development Authority ("IEDA") Board of Directors has certified seventeen Enterprise Zones in the City of Des Moines and amendments thereto, including 13 contiguous acres in Pleasant Hill; and

WHEREAS, cities with State-certified enterprise zones shall establish a nine member Enterprise Zone Commission ("Commission") to administer the EZ program; and

WHEREAS, appointments must be made to continue the work of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, three members are now submitted for City Council approval; and

WHEREAS, the appointments to the Enterprise Zone Commission shall be as follows:

<u>Affiliation</u>	<u>Appointee</u>
Representative of Des Moines City Council	Brian Standis

Representative of the Iowa Economic Development Authority Representative of International Labor Organization

Gerard Neugent Tom Hayes

4 • 4

WHEREAS, each of the appointees to the Commission shall serve a term of at least two (2) years, and each appointee shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Des Moines, Iowa that:

- 1. The Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission members are hereby appointed
- 2. The term of membership for the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission shall be for at least two (2) years, or as otherwise determined by the Des Moines City Council, with the term to begin on the date of approval of this resolution, and each member shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.

Roll Call Number	
13	
Date March 25, 2013	

Agenda	Item	Number
J		15

3. Brian Standish, Tom Hayes and Gerard Neugent are appointed and authorized to conduct

law.4. The City of Des Moines Office of Economic Development shall continue to serve as staff to the Commission as designated by said Commission.

business on behalf of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission in accordance with State

5. The Office of Economic Development shall forward a copy of this resolution to the State of Iowa Department of Economic Development.

(Council Communication No. 13-154)

MOVED by	to adopt
MOVEDUV	το αμορι

FORM APPROVED:

Michael F. Kelley Assistant City Attorney

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE				
COLEMAN				
GRIESS				
HENSLEY				
MAHAFFEY				
MEYER				
MOORE				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED		A	PPROVED	

CERTIFICATE

I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Massass	City Clerk
Mayor	

March 2012

Affiliation	Appointee	Contact Information	Term Ends
Representative of Des Moines City Council	Brian Standish	Operations Director, Kemin Health 600 E. Court Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309 697-4112 – W brian.standish@kemin.com	1/24/13
Member of Des Moines Plan & Zoning Commission	Christine Pardee	4321 University Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50311 333-3015 christine@pardeeassociates.com	2/27/14
Representative of International Labor Organization	Tom Hayes (VICE CHAIR)	Des Moines, Iowa Hayes353@yahoo.com	1/24/13
Representative of Workforce Development Center	Douglas Brooks	lowa Workforce Development 430 East Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309 281-9660 – W 281-9753 – Fax douglas.brooks@iwd.iowa.gov	4/5/14
Member of Des Moines Area Community College Board of Directors	Madelyn Tursi	1101 SW Titus, Des Moines, IA 50315 285-2480 – H 242-7500 – W <u>madelyn.tursi@dmps.k12.ia.us</u>	2/27/14
Member with Economic Development Expertise Chosen by IDED	Gerard Neugent	Knapp Properties Inc. 4949 Westown Pkwy Suite 200 West Des Moines, IA 50266 222-5201 – W 222-5220 – FAX gdn@knappproperties.com	1/24/13
Representative of Federal Enterprise Community	Breanne Bolin	Enterprise Holdings 2551 100th Street - Urbandale, IA, 50322 251-5215 – W 866-699-0019 – Fax Breanne.D.Bolin@ehi.com	4/5/14
Representative of City of Pleasant Hill	Mark C. Ackelson	5525 Schweiker Drive, Pleasant Hill, IA 50327 288-1846 – W 262-0015 – H 288-0137 – FAX mackelson@inhf.org	2/27/14
At-large Member	Kaye Lozier (CHAIR)	Greater DSM Community Foundation 1915 Grand Avenue, Des Moines, IA 50309 883-9505 – W lozier@desmoinesfoundation.org	4/5/14