

May 8. 2017

Date _____

Agenda Item Number 2

Recommendation from the Des Moines Public Schools, regarding their appointment to the Traffic Safety Committee, Seat 9:

> Kara Longfield Transportation Route Specialist 1915 Prospect Road Des Moines, IA 50310 515-242-8135

Moved by ________ to approve the recommendation.

	1		1 74.65			
COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT	CERTIFICATE	
COWNIE						
COLEMAN					I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby	
GATTO					certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among	
GRAY					other proceedings the above was adopted.	
HENSLEY						
MOORE					IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first	
WESTERGAARD					above written.	
TOTAL						
MOTION CARRIED	•		AP	PROVED		
				. •		
				Maxor	City Clerk	

Mayor

Rauh, Diane I.

Subject:

FW: Traffic Safety Committee Appointment

From: Bickett, Sherry [mailto:sherry.bickett@dmschools.org] Sent: Tuesday, May 02, 2017 2:12 PM To: McCoy, Jennifer L. Cc: Schomer, Michelle I.; Longfield, Kara Subject: RE: Traffic Safety Committee Appointment

Hi Jennifer,

I would like Kara Longfield to be the Des Moines Public Schools Reprehensive for City of Des Moines Traffic and Transportation.

I have included her in this email. Please send her of schedule for the meetings.

Sherry

Sherry Bickett **Des Moines Pubic Schools Transportation Route Manager** Ph # (515) 242 - 7994 Sherry.bickett@dmschools.org

Route Spicialist 1915 Prospect Rd DM 50310 242-8135

City of Des Moines, Iowa Boards and Commissions Board Composition

Traffic Safety Committee

Description:	The Traffic Safety Committee is an advisory body to the City Council. The Committee meeting agenda regularly contains a wide variety of traffic and parking concerns, with an emphasis on school crossings, neighborhood traffic, and other transportation safety issues.
Staff contact:	Jennifer McCoy 283-4973
Term length:	Three years
Expiration:	December 31
Meetings:	7:30 AM, Second Tuesday of each month,
Location:	400 E. Court
	City Administration Building, 2nd Floor - East End, Room: Shi Conference Room
Requirements:	Nine voting members, eight of the members shall be appointed by the City Council. One member shall be appointed by each Council Member with two members appointed by the Mayor. One member shall be appointed by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide The term of office of the eight appointed members shall be staggered terms of three years. Expiration of all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Each member of the City Counil may recommend a candidate to fill one position on the board. Notwithstanding Section 2-1059 regarding term limits, members may be reappointed for a third or consecutive term. Ordinance15,528, Roll Call 16-1923- November 7, 2016.

Prof. requirements:

Member Information						
Merlin L Davis	(C):	Term expires:	12/31/2018			
3444 Kinsey Avenue	(D): 515 964-2020	Took office:	09/23/2013			
Des Moines 50317	(E): 515 266-5938	Appointed by: Residing in Ward:				
	(W): 515 669-3963	Eligibility:	Not eligible for reappointment			
Seat: 05 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male			
Brendan Greiner	(C):	Term expires:	12/31/2017			
732 37th	(D): 515 988-8802	Took office:	03/06/2017			
Des Moines 50312	(E):	Appointed by:	3 - Ward 3			
	(W):	Residing in Ward:				
		Eligibility:	Eligible for reappointment			
Seat: 06 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male			
Blake Hanson	(C):	Term expires:	12/31/2019			
600 E. 5th Street Apt 1112	(D): 515 422-4425	Took office:	04/17/2017			
Des Moines 50309	(E):	Appointed by:	7 - Mayor			
	(W):	Residing in Ward:	4			
		Eligibility:	Eligible for reappointment			
Seat: 08 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male			

Board Composition May 03, 2017 Page 2 of 2

Member Information						
Chad S Mason 3521 38th Street Des Moines 50310 Seat: 04 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 278-2913 (E): 515 720-1825 (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2018 08/26/2013 1 - Ward 1 1 Eligible for reappointment Male			
Carl McPherson 1537 21st Street Des Moines 50311 Seat: 01 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 243-5914 (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2004 12/21/1998 7 - Mayor 1 Not eligible for reappointment Male			
George W Robinson 336 E. Army Post Road Des Moines 50315 Seat: 02 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 285-2174 (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2005 04/07/1997 5 - At Large A - Moore 4 Not eligible for reappointment Male			
Carl B Voss 323 East Fifth Street Des Moines 50309 Seat: 07 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 210-0237 (W): 515 210-0237	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2019 11/07/2016 4 - Ward 4 4 Not eligible for reappointment Male			
Kevin Williamson 730 SE 27th Court Bes Moines 50317 Kour Longheld Seat: 09 - DM Public Schools	(C): (D): (E): 515 480-5046 (W): 515 243-8135	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward Eligibility: Gender:	12/30/2020 50 12/30/2005 2014 11 - Miscellaneous 4 N/A Male			
James H Windsor III 4004 Grand Avenue, Unit 602 Des Moines 50312 Seat: 03 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 279-4970 (W): 515 000-0000	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2017 01/23/2012 6 - At Large B - Coleman : 3 Not eligible for reappointment Male			
