*	Roll	Call	Num	ber

Agenda Item Number
18

Date October 9, 2017

Recommendation from Mayor T. M. Franklin Cownie to appoint Scott Bents to the Transportation Safety Committee, Seat 1, for a 3-year term commencing December 31, 2016 to December 31, 2019.

Scott Bents 2015 46th Street Des Moines, IA 50310

(641) 831-9554 (M) scott.c.bents@gmail.com

Moved by		to adopt.
----------	--	-----------

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE				
COLEMAN				
GATTO				
GRAY				
HENSLEY				
MOORE				
WESTERGAARD				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED	·		API	ROVED

I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

CERTIFICATE

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Mayor

City Clerk

City of Des Moines, Iowa **Boards and Commissions Board Composition**

Transportation Safety Committee

Description:

The transportation safety committee shall advise the city council on matters relating to the safe and efficient use of all transportation modes within and immediately adjacent to the City of Des Moines. These transportation modes include but are not limited to motor vehicles,

bicycles, and pedestrian modes used as part of the transportation system. The transportation system includes, but is not limited to, streets, sidewalks, and related

transportation facilities.

Staff contact:

Jennifer McCoy 283-4973

Term length:

Three years

Expiration:

December 31

Meetings:

7:30 AM, Second Tuesday of each month,

Location:

400 E. Court

City Administration Building, 2nd Floor - East End, Room: Shi Conference Room

Requirements:

Ten voting members, eight of the members shall be appointed by the City Council. One member shall be appointed by each Council Member with two members appointed by the Mayor. One member shall be appointed by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide. Another Member shall be appointed by DART to represent the interest of transit Citywide. The term of office of the appointed members shall be staggered terms of three years. Expiration of all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Each member of the City Counil may recommend a candidate to fill one position on the board. Notwithstanding

Section 2-1059 regarding term limits, members may be reappointed for a third or consecutive term. Ordinance15,528, Roll Call 16-1923- November 7, 2016.

Any of the two members nominated by the Mayor who cease to hold the qualifications for appointment to the seat they hold on the transportation safety committee shall cease to be a

member

Prof. requirements: Board name and seat criteria changed 17-1103 6/26/2017

Board Members may serve up to 3 consecutive terms.

A majority of the members serving on the committee shall constitute a quorem.

Member Information

Merlin L Davis	(C):	Term expires:	12/31/2018
3444 Kinsey Avenue	(D): 515 964-2020	Took office:	9/23/2013
Des Moines 50317	(E): 515 266-5938	Appointed by:	2 - Ward 2
	(W): 515 669-3963	Residing in Ward	d: 2
		Eligibility:	Not eligible for reappointment
Seat: 05 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male

Board Composition October 04, 2017 Page 2 of 3

Member Information

Brendan Greiner 732 37th Des Moines 50312 Seat: 06 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 988-8802 (E): (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2017 3/6/2017 3 - Ward 3 3 Eligible for reappointment Male
Blake Hanson 600 E. 5th Street Apt 1112 Des Moines 50309 Seat: 08 - Licensed professional engineer with transportation experience	(C): (D): 515 422-4425 (E): (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2019 4/17/2017 7 - Mayor 4 Eligible for reappointment Male
Kara Longfield 1915 Prospect Road DM Schools Des Moines 50310 Seat: 09 - DM Public Schools	(C): (D): 515 242-8135 (E): (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2050 5/8/2017 11 - Miscellaneous N/A Female
Chad S Mason 3521 38th Street Des Moines 50310 Seat: 04 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 278-2913 (E): 515 720-1825 (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2018 8/26/2013 1 - Ward 1 1 Eligible for reappointment Male
George W Robinson 336 E. Army Post Road Des Moines 50315 Seat: 02 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 285-2174 (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2005 4/7/1997 5 - At Large A - Moore 4 Not eligible for reappointment Male
Scott Bent S Seat: 01 - Des Moines Bicycle Collective Board Member, or similarly focused organization	(C): (D): (E): (W):	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	12/31/2019 7 - Mayor 0 Vacant

Board Composition October 04, 2017 Page 3 of 3

Member Information

Vacancy	(C): (D):	Term expires: Took office:	12/31/2019	
	(E):	Appointed by:	11 - Miscellaneous	
	(W):	Residing in Ward:	0	
	,	Eligibility:	Eligible for reappointment	
Seat: 10 - DART staff member appointed by DART		Gender:		
Carl B Voss	(C):	Term expires:	12/31/2019	
323 East Fifth Street	(D):	Took office:	11/7/2016	
Des Moines 50309	(E): 515 210-0237	Appointed by:	4 - Ward 4	
	(W): 515 210-0237	Residing in Ward:	4	
		Eligibility:	Not eligible for reappointment	
Seat: 07 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male	
James H Windsor III	(C):	Term expires:	12/31/2017	
4004 Grand Avenue, Unit 602	(D):	Took office:	1/23/2012	
Des Moines 50312	(E): 515 279-4970	Appointed by:	6 - At Large B - Coleman	
	(W): 515 000-0000	Residing in Ward:	3	
		Eligibility:	Not eligible for reappointment	
Seat: 03 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male	