

Date November 20, 2017

Agenda Item Number

Accepting resignation of Diane Munns from the Civil Service Commission, Seat 2, effective immediately.

Moved by ______to receive, file, and accept resignation with appreciation for her service.

Replacement to be appointed by Mayor T. M. Franklin Cownie.

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT	CERTIFICATE
COWNIE					
COLEMAN					I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby
GATTO					certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said
GRAY					City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.
HENSLEY					······································
MOORE					IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my
WESTERGAARD					hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.
TOTAL					
MOTION CARRIED	1		AP	ROVED	
				Mayor	City Clerk
				urayur	J

City of Des Moines, Iowa **Boards and Commissions Board Composition**

Civil Service Commission

Description:	Recruits and examines applicants for civil service employment; maintains civil service employee records; hears and adjudicates employees' appeals utilizing City staff.
Staff contact:	James Wells, HR Director/Clerk of the Commission 283-4213
Term length:	Four years
Expiration:	First Monday in April
Meetings:	1:15 PM, First and third Tuesdays of each month,
Location:	1551 E. Martin Luther King Jr. Parkway
	Richard Clark Municipal Services Center, MacRae Conference Room, Room: 1st floor
Requirements:	GENDER BALANCE REQUIRED - Seven members, all appointments are made by the Mayor with the approval of the City Council. Members must be citizens of Iowa and residents of the City preceding their appointment. They cannot hold, or be a candidate for, any office of public trust. They cannot be a party to any contract to buy or sell supplies, material, or labor which involves the City. TERM LIMITS DO NOT APPLY Iowa Code Section 400.1

Prof. requirements:

.

Member Information						
Mary E Campos	(C):	Term expires:	4/1/2016			
203 E. 16th Street	(D):	Took office:	4/6/1998			
Des Moines 50316	(E): 515 263-1686	Appointed by:	7 - Mayor			
	(VV):	Residing in Ward	: 4			
		Eligibility:	Eligible for reappointment			
Seat: 01 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Female			
Linda Carter-Lewis	(C):	Term expires:	4/1/2016			
3141 SW 38th Place	(D):	Took office:	7/28/2008			
Des Moines 50321	(E): 515 283-1271	Appointed by:	7 - Mayor			
	(W): 515 556-4491	Residing in Ward	: 3			
		Eligibility:	Eligible for reappointment			
Seat: 07 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Female			
Jeffrey Hall	(C):	Term expires:	4/1/2014			
2408 Logan	(D):	Took office:	4/6/1998			
Des Moines 50317	(E): 515 265-3191	Appointed by:	7 - Mayor			
	(W): 515 282-1909	Residing in Ward	: 4			
		Eligibility:	Eligible for reappointment			
Seat: 04 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male			

Board Composition November 17, 2017 Page 2 of 2

í

Member Information							
Joseph Henry 2463 E. Highview Drive Des Moines 50320	(C): (D): 515 208-7312 (E): (W): 515 224-8625	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility:	4/1/2018 4/8/2013 7 - Mayor 4 Eligible for reappointment				
Seat: 03 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Male				
Disne C Munns 931 2955 Street Des Moines 50312	(C): (D): 515 281-2754 (E): 515 279-7361 (W): 515 281-2754	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility:	4/1/2015 1/10/2011 7 - Mayor 3 Eligible for reappointment				
Seat: 02 - Citizen of DM		Gender:	Female				
Joseph Quinn 700 Walnut, Suite 1600 Des Moines 50309 Seat: 05 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 243-6186 (W): 515 283-3136	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	4/4/2013 12/7/1998 7 - Mayor 3 Eligible for reappointment Male				
Peter W Rounds 2933 Guthrie Avenue Des Moines 50317 Seat: 06 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 360-2306 (W): 515 360-2306	Term expires: Took office: Appointed by: Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Gender:	4/1/2015 4/23/2007 7 - Mayor				