*	Roll	Call	Νι	ımb	er
		*******		,	
_			- :		

Agenda Item Number	I
14	
1 1	

Date August 20, 2018

Recommendation from the Des Moines Public Schools, regarding their appointment to the Transportation Safety Committee, Seat 9:

Robin Witt DMPS Transportation Safety-Training Specialist 1915 Prospect Road Des Moines, IA 50310

(515) 242-8136 Robin.witt@dmschools.org

Moved by	to adopt.

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE				
BOESEN				
COLEMAN				
GATTO				
GRAY				
MANDELBAUM				
WESTERGAARD				
TOTAL				
MOTION CARRIED	APPROVED		ROVED	

CERTIFICATE

I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

	City Clerk
 •	 Ψ,

City of Des Moines, Iowa **Boards and Commissions Board Composition**

Transportation Safety Committee

Description:

The transportation safety committee shall advise the city council on matters relating to the safe and efficient use of all transportation modes within and immediately adjacent to the City

of Des Moines. These transportation modes include but are not limited to motor vehicles,

bicycles, and pedestrian modes used as part of the transportation system. The transportation system includes, but is not limited to, streets, sidewalks, and related

transportation facilities.

Staff contact:

Jennifer McCoy 283-4973

Term length:

Three years - may serve 3 consecutive terms

Expiration:

December 31

Meetings:

7:30 AM, Second Tuesday of each month,

Location:

1551 E. Martin Luther King Jr. Parkway Richard Clark Municipal Services Center, 1st Floor North End, Room: MacRae

Requirements:

Ten voting members, eight of the members shall be appointed by the City Council. One

member shall be appointed by each Council Member with two members appointed by the

Mayor. One member shall be appointed by the Superintendent of the Des Moines Independent Community School District to represent the interest of the schools citywide. Another Member shall be appointed by DART to represent the interest of transit Citywide. The term of office of the appointed members shall be staggered terms of three years.

Expiration of all terms of appointed members shall be December 31. Each member of the City Counil may recommend a candidate to fill one position on the board. Notwithstanding Section 2-1059 regarding term limits, members may be reappointed for a third or

consecutive term. Ordinance15,528, Roll Call 16-1923- November 7, 2016.

Any of the two members nominated by the Mayor who cease to hold the qualifications for appointment to the seat they hold on the transportation safety committee shall cease to be a

member

Prof. requirements: Board name and seat criteria changed 17-1103 6/26/2017

Board Members may serve up to 3 consecutive terms.

A majority of the members serving on the committee shall constitute a quorem.

Member Information

Scott Bents 2015 46th Street (C):

Term expires:

12/31/2019

Des Moines 50310

(D): 641 831-9554 (E):

Took office: Appointed by:

10/9/2017 7 - Mayor

(W):

Residing in Ward:

Eligibility:

Eligible for reappointment

Seat: 01 - Des Moines Bicycle Collective Board Member, or similarly focused

organization

Gender:

Male

Board Composition August 14, 2018 Page 2 of 3

Member Information

	Metimer Bilotii	iditoti	
Dave Ferree 4021 45th Street Des Moines 50310 Seat: 04 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 278-4731 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2018 Took office: 2/19/2018 Appointed by: 1 - Ward 1 Residing in Ward: 1 Eligibility: Eligible for reappo	pintment
Blake Hanson 600 E. 5th Street Apt 1112 Des Moines 50309 Seat: 08 - Licensed professional engineer with transportation experience	(C): (D): 515 422-4425 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2019 Took office: 4/17/2017 Appointed by: 7 - Mayor Residing in Ward: 4 Eligibility: Eligible for reappo	pintment
Kara Longfield 1915 Prospect Road DM Schools Des Moines 50310 Robin With Seat: 09 - DM Public Schools	(C): (D): 515 242-8135 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2050 Took office: 5/8/2017 Appointed by: 11 - Miscellaneou Residing in Ward: Eligibility: N/A Gender: Female	ıs
Anne Pham 3701 Kingman Blvd Des Moines 50311 Seat: 06 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 249-5523 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2020 Took office: 2/5/2018 Appointed by: 3 - Ward 3 Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Eligible for reappo	pintment
Tim Sanderson 620 Cherry Street Des Moines 50309 Seat: 10 - DART staff member appointed by DART	(C): (D): 515 283-8100 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2019 Took office: 1/8/2018 Appointed by: 11 - Miscellaneou Residing in Ward: Eligibility: Eligible for reappoints Gender: Male	
Meg Schneider 668 48th Street Des Moines 50312 Seat: 02 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 210-1421 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2020 Took office: 4/9/2018 Appointed by: 5 - At Large A - B Residing in Ward: 3 Eligibility: Eligible for reappo	

Board Composition August 14, 2018 Page 3 of 3

Member Information

Carl B Voss 323 East Fifth Street Des Moines 50309 Seat: 07 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 210-0237 (W): 515 210-0237	Term expires: 12/31/2019 Took office: 11/7/2016 Appointed by: 4 - Ward 4 Residing in Ward: 4 Eligibility: Not eligible for reappointment Gender: Male
James H Windsor III 4004 Grand Avenue, Unit 602 Des Moines 50312 Seat: 03 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): (E): 515 279-4970 (W): 515 000-0000	Term expires: 12/31/2020 Took office: 1/23/2012 Appointed by: 6 - At Large B - Coleman Residing in Ward: 3 Eligibility: Eligible for reappointment Gender: Male
Chad Zimmerman 4911 Richmond Ave Des Moines 50317 Seat: 05 - Citizen of DM	(C): (D): 515 350-3341 (E): (W):	Term expires: 12/31/2018 Took office: 7/11/2018 Appointed by: 2 - Ward 2 Residing in Ward: 2 Eligibility: Eligible for reappointment Gender: Male