

Agenda Item Number

Annaintag

**Date** March 25, 2013

## RESOLUTION TO APPOINT THREE MEMBERS TO THE DES MOINES ENTERPRISE ZONE COMMISSION

WHEREAS, the Enterprise Zone program, as authorized by Iowa Code Section 15E.196 (2003) (the "EZ Program" or the "Act") provides that certain eligible cities and counties may designate areas as enterprise zones and apply to the State of Iowa for enterprise zone certification to facilitate economic reinvestment in economically distressed areas; and

WHEREAS, the Iowa Economic Development Authority ("IEDA") Board of Directors has certified seventeen Enterprise Zones in the City of Des Moines and amendments thereto, including 13 contiguous acres in Pleasant Hill; and

WHEREAS, cities with State-certified enterprise zones shall establish a nine member Enterprise Zone Commission ("Commission") to administer the EZ program; and

WHEREAS, appointments must be made to continue the work of the Commission; and

WHEREAS, three members are now submitted for City Council approval; and

WHEREAS, the appointments to the Enterprise Zone Commission shall be as follows:

<u>Affiliation</u>	<u>Appointee</u>
Representative of Des Moines City Council Representative of the Iowa Economic Development Authority Representative of International Labor Organization	Brian Standish Gerard Neugent Tom Hayes

WHEREAS, each of the appointees to the Commission shall serve a term of at least two (2) years, and each appointee shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED by the City Council of the City of Des Moines, Iowa that:

- 1. The Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission members are hereby appointed
- 2. The term of membership for the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission shall be for at least two (2) years, or as otherwise determined by the Des Moines City Council, with the term to begin on the date of approval of this resolution, and each member shall be subject to reappointment by the Des Moines City Council.

**Date** March 25, 2013

- 3. Brian Standish, Tom Hayes and Gerard Neugent are appointed and authorized to conduct business on behalf of the Des Moines Enterprise Zone Commission in accordance with State law.
- 4. The City of Des Moines Office of Economic Development shall continue to serve as staff to the Commission as designated by said Commission.
- 5. The Office of Economic Development shall forward a copy of this resolution to the State of Iowa Department of Economic Development.

(Council Communication No. 13- 15+)

MOVED by Busley to adopt.

FORM APPROVED:

Michael F. Kelley Assistant City Attorney

COUNCIL ACTION	YEAS	NAYS	PASS	ABSENT
COWNIE	V			
COLEMAN	V			
GRIESS	V			
HENSLEY	/			
MAHAFFEY	V			
MEYER	/			
MOORE	1			
TOTAL	1			
MOTION CARRIED		APPROVED		

1. M. franklin Cowall Mayor

## CERTIFICATE

I, DIANE RAUH, City Clerk of said City hereby certify that at a meeting of the City Council of said City of Des Moines, held on the above date, among other proceedings the above was adopted.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my hand and affixed my seal the day and year first above written.

Drane Farch City

City Clerk